Lately, God has been showing me some of the small things I still struggle with and how the devil tries to use those holes in the wall to tear people down. Something I’ve struggled with is seeking approval from the wrong people. This was because of a lack of good self-esteem in myself that caused me to look desperately to others for attention. Sometimes I didn’t even know I was doing it. But the word of God says in Matthew 5:13-16 “You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot. You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.” This means that God knows we’re precious. He values us. So we are supposed to built up a spiritual house to keep out doubt and self-worthlessness. It makes God look good when his children are confident.

      Some time ago, I started working with someone who, I thought was very knowledgable and accomplished, and I was constantly seeking acceptance from them. But it seemed like no matter what I did, it was never quite right. I would try to help with something, but I would be so nervous that I always ended up missing imperative details. I remember getting so frustrated one day talking to a friend and asking, “What’s wrong with me? Why can’t I seem to change other people’s perception of me?” She told me, “Hannah, you are working WAY too hard to change yourself, you need to calm down. What they think doesn’t matter at all.” As I started to think about it, I realized I wasn’t seeking God’s approval as much as I should have been.

      It’s like the way most of us were as little kids. We would draw a picture for our parents and wait for them to say how good it was, and that they’re going to hang it up in their office for all to see. We would feel so good afterward, like we accomplished something special. That’s exactly how we should be with God! So my question to you today is, if it’s just you and God all the way through, and nobody else, will you be alright? The apostles went out to preach the gospel after Jesus rose from the dead, and they weren’t exactly welcomed with open arms. They experienced terrible bouts of persecution, but they continued moving forward. They knew that the foundation they were setting was going to set the pace for Christians today. They moved through the fear and sought to please God, so today, we can read about them and take the advice they’ve given us. (See The Book of Acts)

      If you take away anything from what I’m saying, let it be this. We are children of God, therefore we have nothing to fear. It’s not an easy thing to just brush off the opinions of others, but when I get really low in my faith, I read a scripture from one of my favorite books in the bible. It says in John 14:27, “Peace I leave you, my peace I give to you. Not as the world giveth give I unto you, let not your heart be troubled neither let it be afraid.” I take comfort from that, the fact that the God of the universe has left me peace. So I hope today, wherever you are, that you would take heart. God is on your side, even when your side seems fairly empty. He’s the only thing that matters in the end. Claim the promises he gave you over and over to keep your mind set on where you came from!

