tumblr_mxigvofpgr1sw5v4co1_500

     So many of you who know me may know that I love cabins and cottages. There are so many characteristics about them that love about them. From their rustic, country, charm down to their amber and bronze saturation. Houses like these are worth preserving and represent a sense of home to me. But this love didn’t just come out of nowhere. When I was a child, I used to have vivid dreams of being out in the rain in the middle of the night. I would come across a place like this, and it would provide a shelter for me. It was almost like I was drawn there. When I walked inside, it would look something like this:

    unnamed-1

A breathtaking fireplace roaring, and next to it a steaming cup of hot chocolate to ease my chill in my bones. I don’t just love how all of this looks, I love what it represents. Peace and silence. The one thing we sometimes can’t get enough of. The average family does countless things from traveling to soccer games or getting the groceries in a day to day schedule, not to mention, the little surprises that like to pop up and take off guard (things like overtime at a job, taking cars to the dealership, or emergency trips to the hospital). So for me, as soon as I wake up in the morning every day, one of my first thoughts is, I wonder how my free time I can squeeze in today. But not just regular free time, free time to spend with God.

     Don’t get me wrong, I love my time with people. Time with family and friends is one of the most important things to me. But if a good amount of the day passes without me getting my much needed reflection time, I tend to get a bit agitated. This is something that has taken awhile for me to figure out about myself. I’ve lived in the city for a small portion of my life, and though I enjoy the frenzy, I am, at heart, a country girl. My dream is to get back there someday, to a place that’s most like the one in my dreams. I wish I could have that freedom to run through the fields, or just sit and meditate on the Lord. I’m finding that that is when I feel the most refreshed. Meditating in the spirit, worshipping, and having intense intercessory prayer. And I believe in all of us, there is a desire to get back to the simpler way of doing things.

    In order to accomplish my goal, I have an actual plan that I’m going to stick to. And I say it that way only because it has to do with making my own schedule. Schedules are one of those things for me that I follow when I have to, but I have had some difficulty with them in the past to be honest. I’m a very spontaneous person. A road-trip kind of girl. So I expect that making this a habit will take some continued effort. What I want is to work on ALL the different projects I have going on each day so that one doesn’t get left behind, and little by little, I’m going to add more time with God into my day. Whether it’s bible reading or just praise and worship. I believe that God should be in my thoughts most of time; he should be priority over everything else. Now, this is not to say that I can magically stop things from coming up on it’s own, I don’t have any superpowers. But when things do happened that I don’t expect, I will just as necessary.

    Also, don’t feel bad if you yourself can’t put this into practice. If you have four kids and a dog, nothing’s impossible BUT it’s going to be much harder for you then it would be for me. I just need this guideline for myself to keep me focused on completing every task I need to get done.  The word of God says in Matthew 6:6, “But when you pray, go into your room and shut the door and pray to your Father who is in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will reward you.” You may not have a cabin in the woods to drown out the sound traffic outside your window, but maybe you have a room that’s made especially for “quiet time”. Start with 15 minutes a day, and see if you can make it to 20. Whatever you can give, God will see your heart and remember you in times of trouble. This is what I have in schedule so far:

         unnamed-2

Please forgive my drawing, I’m no Matisse! But I think this is a good starting point for me in terms of what’s important. And God willing someday I will make it out to the woods, taking in the breeze with my legs dipped in the lake, living out the desires of the little girl still inside of me. Here are some more pictures I thought I’d share with you:

                   tumblr_mc60ji34pP1r8ur8jo1_500.png

13221f0575893293ba65766a6c20c2fb

5805002985837cf7a5f052b77c255149

S o l a c e . . .

 

