I know what you’re thinking. Another rant. Another hateful person. Just one more complainer. Wrong. This article will definitely be shorter than my other articles. It has been one of the most controversial weeks I think we’ve ever had in the history of our country. Most people rushed to the voting booths with an eager heart. So sure of themselves and confident about their candidate. Others were content to leave it alone and let the chips fall as they may. Either way, a lot of people are frustrated and don’t know what to do.

    I’m not someone who usually posts on social media or anywhere else about my political views because I’m not a huge fan of the pushback that comes with it. I believe that we all should be able to state our opinion without it erupting in complete chaos. I have many friends who believe very differently than I do and are NOT afraid to step out and defend themselves. So I have learned to accept them for who they are and “agree to disagree”. But now, it’s as if the U.S. has come to a place where no one is listening to anyone. The nation that is called, “the land of the free” is becoming “the land of the people who look, talk, and act like us” and personally, I decline from this.

   The main controversies with each candidate are still fresh in my mind, so I can see how each party may THINK they’re doing right. There has been an on-going trend of debt, elevated taxes, and shortage of certain other American benefits. People are tired, always struggling to scrape by. On either side, there is a fear of hopelessness that anything can change in their favor. Each side puts out passion. Each side puts out aggression. Propaganda is on every television screen from 12 a.m. to 12 a.m. And when finally a decision is made, people are outraged. America has basically turned on it’s side like it’s cramping up and I hate to watch it all unfold.

    What do I stand for? I have always stood for love. For treating everyone with respect; supporting and uplifting people with positivity when they can’t stand on their own. I believe in whatever God says is right, and we all know the verse Mark 12:31: “The second is this: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no other commandment greater than these.”. Also there’s Leviticus 19:18, “You shall not take vengeance or bear a grudge against the sons of your own people, but you shall love your neighbor as yourself: I am the Lord.” the Bible states in clearly and I believe it. Accept other people as they are, even if you don’t agree with their choices. Now some people, even Christians, have not followed this rule. But judging them for judging others is frankly hypocritical, don’t you think. Either way, we as Americans have always found a way to stand against hatred. In 1920, women were finally allowed to vote. In 1945, the Holocaust (brutal mistreatment of Jews) finally ceased and 1 year later, the Japanese Interment camps were shut down for good. In 1964, segregation between African Americans and Caucasians ended. How could we have possibly forgotten all of this. I see the people of this country as my brothers and sisters. My brothers and sisters are frantically running, shouting, shooting, protesting…terrified. And I just wonder when enough is going to be enough for us.

   All I really want, is for both sides to come together and hear each other out. Realistically, I don’t know how attainable that will be. If you don’t agree with who won the election, there’s nothing you can do about it anyway. As much as you paint signs and put out petitions, it won’t change the outcome. And the same hatred you show toward the new president, and even Hillary, is the same hatred you’re afraid of receiving from others. It isn’t right, the whole way around. Again, this is my opinion I’m no expert. But I feel as if we’re missing an important lesson in this very tense time and going around in circles. Love will ALWAYS out rule hate. There is never a good reason to hate. We have to realize that perpetual hate is a learned behavior. People aren’t born bitter, they were taught to be that way by either their parents, relatives, or friends. They have adopted this and may not even realize they’re doing it. They need continuous empathy, prayer, and support. They need to know that there is better way to live and treat others. I have had many experiences with people, even in my close circle of acquaintances where I have heard someone say a prejudicial thing, and I have had to show them grace in the midst of their ignorance. If we can learn this as a nation, we will not only prosper in benefits as a result of the different cultures, we will finally break the glass ceiling that’s been cracked for so long but dying to be completely shattered. I hope those reading this will join me in showing love and approval to others. Let’s make a genuine effort to hear each other out. Everyone wants to be heard.

 

