I’ve been thinking a lot about this lately, because it’s a word people like to use a lot. I think it’s a popular word because it’s supposed to mean excitement or a “coming together of people. I was curious to find out the actual meaning so I looked it up in the dictionary, and here’s what I got:

Revival- [ri-vahy-vuh l]

noun
1. Restoration to life, consciousness, vigor, strength, etc.
2. Restoration to use, acceptance, or currency: the revival of old customs.
I found it interesting that the word restoration was in the definition, because that’s one of the words that came to my mind as I was praying to God the other night. Restoration is a very big part of it, but there are also some other elements of it that I thought of. I really meditated on this and asked God if it was right because I wanted to make sure I wasn’t just making something up. I felt Him tell me that these next 3 things are important, and that it’s His will that we live this way all the time:

⇒Praise = Healing
⇒Prayer = Restoration
⇒Soaking In The Spirit = Peace

 

I don’t have too much trouble following through with any of these things, but as far as keeping it up on a weekly, even daily basis…um. If I have a really busy day, I always try to find a way to squeeze in a couple of minutes with God, and it’s usually just one of those elements. But on the days when I have the time, it’s just about making the initiative to get up and sacrifice whatever my plans originally were. When you keep the revival going, you’re telling the enemy that he no longer has a place in your heart, mind, spirit, and soul. You keep yourself protected. Now, I’m not saying you’re invincible, so don’t think that. Don’t go jumping off any buildings with your new “can do” attitude. This just means that you don’t let bad things affect you the way they used to. It’s as if, you almost ignore the fact that’s it’s happening all together. If your house is about to foreclose, stay in reality. You know how your bank accounts still look. You know that you’re kids are deposing on you to make it. You know that these bills not getting paid is taking a toll on your marriage. But you also know that God loves you. You know that He’s provides before so it’ll happen again. You know that Job lost his family and his possessions but he gained it all back in the end. You know that Gideon was up against a mighty army, but he defeated them without having to lift a finger. So you tell yourself that over and over again. You meditate on what is good. And if you’ve already lost your house, believe that it’s because God has a bigger house in my mind for you. This is obviously easier said than done. I know because I’ve tried and lost hope so many times before. But Psalm 37:25 says, “I have been young, and now am old, yet I have not seen the righteous forsaken or his children begging for bread.” If you don’t know, the speaker in that verse is King David, and if you go to that verse and read the passages in between, you’ll see that he had no reason to keep on hoping. But he is one of the most inspirational people in the word of God because of his dedication to praising God. He created his own revival, even in tragedy.

I guess the point of me writing this is to encourage you to have your own revival. Speak to God all the time. Tell Him what you desire. Sometimes have trouble keeping what I’ve found. If I find peace, I lose it again. If I find joy, a situation comes literally the next day to try to steal it away. I kind of came up with this metaphor on what prayer is actually like (God speaks to me like this sometimes because He knows I’m a visual learner). Prayer is like Siri, if you don’t say anything, nothing will happen. But God is better than Siri, He can answer all your questions. Not give you half-comprehensible answers. You just have to listen carefully in a way that’s best for you. So I hope that this speaks to you a little and makes you want to add some things to your every day life. It may look a little different for everyone reading this, but the outcome of revival is the same for everyone: Good.

 

P.S., the picture above is based off of Acts 2 in the Bible. Look it up if you’re curious about how Palestine used to party.

 

 

 

 

 

 

