“We look only to the future for our happiness.
Letting life slip through our fingers in its fullness.
Will we really feel complete when the task is done,
or look back and see how we missed so much fun?”

– M. Jolynn Rawson-Hunt

 

Simplicity – [sim-plis-i-tee]

 

1. The state, quality, or an instance of being simple.

2. Freedom from complexity, intricacy, or division into parts:

an organism of great simplicity.
        Today I was reminded of something I had forgotten to remember. Something that I’m so quick to remind other people of. It’s something called, “stopping and smelling the roses”. I looked up at the sky today and noticed the shape of the clouds, how fluffy and white they were. I saw a bird perched on a fence singing to the breeze. And then I saw the sun coming out over those same clouds and pass over a beautiful field of green. I saw God and it made me smile. I’m someone who loves nature and makes a point to look for the good in life, but a lot of times I also take things a little too seriously. Sometimes I can feel the look on my face, and I don’t like what it resembles. People also call me on it from time to time, saying it makes me look unhappy or seem unapproachable, when really it’s the fact that I haven’t smelled the flowers that day. I was reminded today so I’m also reminding you, that the best way to live life is from moment to moment. You don’t want to be one of those people that waits their whole life for something to happen, only to not have it happen. Then they sit back in their sofa at 65, wishing they had enjoyed everyday life. Or maybe you know for sure something good is coming and it’s just a waiting process. Then still make a point to enjoy the time leading up to that thing. Sometimes the process makes getting there that much better.

 

Originality – [uh-rij-uhnal-i-tee]

 

1. The quality or state of being original.
2. Ability to think or express oneself in an independent and individual manner; creative ability.

 

 

        Another piece of advice I would give to you on living life is to be yourself…completely. There’s a difference between discovering and changing qualities within yourself that are hindering your relationships and growth opportunities, and disliking who you are so you hide away. There was a time when I was younger when I was that exact same way. I didn’t really know who I was or what I had to offer so I tried to be something I wasn’t because I assumed that’s what people wanted from me. I was dying to be like one of “the plastics”. (Like Regina George from the movie “Mean Girls“. If you haven’t seen it, you really should.) I wanted people to stop and look when I walked in the room like every young girl does. But eventually, you have to move out of that mentality. No one wants to be friends with a robot. We look for friends to find someone special and unique. Just last night, I was thinking over self esteem and I concluded that I had finally reached the point where I wasn’t going to wait on others to give me validation. This even applies to following God. In order to follow Him, you have to forsake everything you were planning and taker on what He said. You have to be willing to try anything to obtain the goals you’re longing to reach. You have to be willing to take those risks that may embarrass you a little, like praying over your boss’s knee. You have to be willing to even forsake what your friends may think about what you’re doing, and you might actually find out who your real friends are.

 

Love -[luhv]

 

1. A profoundly tender, passionate affection for another person.
2. A feeling of warm personal attachment or deep affection, as for a parent, child, or friend.

       Then there’s love. Love can be tricky, we all know that. As Valentine’s Day just passed, I’ve been thing a lot about that, too. I went through a lot of pictures from the past couple of years, remembering all of the good times I shared with the people I care most about. I came to another conclusion: we take on traits from the people we meet in life that make the most impact on us and we become the person we are because of them, We are still ourselves, but we also honor who they are by what we remember about them. Even if they’re far away, you never forget, because that love still remains in the back of your heart. I also have learned that each time we fall in love (with a spouse, boyfriend/girlfriend, crush, etc) we as people get better at it. You may not think you’ve learned anything, but trust me, it’s worth it. I’ve only been in love twice in my entire life. The first time was in high school. You know how it is, you’re sure that you’re sure that you’re SURE, that that person’s the one. Although it didn’t work out, I learned something about myself from that experience. I learned for the first time what I didn’t want in a partner, and I made a point to extend that list a little further. The second time was a couple of years later. That time, I can honestly say was the real deal for me. I learned how to be more patient and understanding. God used that time to reveal to me certain habits that I had through that person. In other words, I felt like I was seeing what I looked like from someone’s else perspective by being around that person. It was very difficult, but I was willing to do anything to make it work. Even if it meant keeping my mouth shut when I could’ve screwed that person over, I would’ve never done anything to hurt them. So basically, I learned how to love unconditionally with every fiber of my being. Furthermore I can genuinely say, that that love still remains.

Humility – [hyoo-mil-i-tee or, often, yoo-]

 

  1. The quality or condition of being humble; modest opinion or estimate of one’s own importance, rank, etc.

 

       This is something that I, and a lot of people don’t like to talk about because it’s no fun and requires work. However, this last year of my life has consumed by mastering the art. It comes with correction and willingness to admit you’re wrong. It comes with the gritting of teeth, but for some people it comes easily. Even Jesus was humble, which is why He told us to do the same. Frankly, I think if He had walked around shaming other people and putting them down with a crown on his head, few people would have listened to Him. His friends (the disciples) all knew He was the best, He didn’t have to anything to prove it except love people. He told everyone who He was, but then went around washing people’s feet. How could we ever be cocky when God himself wasn’t. Well, I’ve been guilty of this myself in the past, not wanting to listen to people because I was insecure about my own lack of knowledge when it came to certain things. One of my mentors once told me something I never forgot, and it comes to mind whenever I’m in a conversation with someone new: if someone’s telling a joke or taking about something you don’t know about, don’t laugh and don’t chime in. Just listen. Ever since I heard that , I’ve tried to do just that. Listen. On the other hand, I also discovered that sometimes the way I said things made people think I was unwilling to learn, even that wasn’t what I was trying to get across. Now the Holy Spirit guides me on what I should say and how I should say it and I try to listen a little better than before.

 

Commitment – [kuhmit-muh nt]

1. The act of committing.
2. The state of being committed.
3. The act of committing, pledging, or engaging oneself.
4. A pledge or promise; obligation:
      So, just to be clear I have no problem committing to things or people. I am the farthest thing from a commitment “phobe” you could possibly find. The problem I have always had is with being on time. Let’s just say I have to be in class at 8:30 a.m., but I can also slide in 5 minutes late if necessary. I’ll think to myself, “Ah, an extra 5 minutes to change my outfit.” or, “Ah, an extra 5 minutes to grab a snack.” but never, ” Ooo, maybe I should be inside the building at 8:25 to make myself look good.” Nope, I go with the bare minimum, and this is something I’m seeking to get better at in the present. One thing I will stress, is to listen to the people telling you to “turn over a new leaf”. It sucks to hear it, but in the long run, you will thank those people for telling you the truth. The truth is, God wants us to be on time because it makes HIM look good. He wants us to represent him well as His children, so that others will look at us and say, “Dang, I want some of that.”

True Joy

By M. Jolynn Rawson-Hunt

 

 

I’ll be happy once I’ve done this certain thing.
We all say this often not realizing what it brings.
We look only to the future for our happiness.
Letting life slip through our fingers in its fullness.
Will we really feel complete when the task is done,
or look back and see how we missed so much fun?
Self consumed so we can’t see anything else,
hurting those we love as well as ourselves.
So many things around us to be grateful for,
when seeking for an answer willingly open the door.
So often, others see what’s in front of our face,
but we’re too blind to look as we’re snared in the race.
What is this life supposed to be about?
Is it money, fortune, fame, or a big house?
When speaking to a man on his dying bed,
none of these answers are what he said.
Family, love, laughter are what we should seek.
These are the precious things right outside your door.

       I think that this poem is, in a gist, what I’m trying to say. All of these things that I’ve written about are the keys to being happy. They say you can learn from someone else’s mistakes, well I’m just someone trying to put that fact to the test. I hope everyone reading this gets something out of it, and feel inspired, as I do, to live a more fulfilling life every moment of everyday. Even if it means finding a way to make the bad things good. Laughing at yourself over spilled milk, or dancing when a car splashes rain in your face.
Do it all. Do it with grace.
                                         Or, meet Ryan Gosling’s “Shame Face”.
                        tumblr_m7y0ojf5fj1qzblioo1_500_large
